Creamy Cauliflower Soup with Cheddar

12 Jan

saute - siclian greens 010

Couples with children often give newlyweds advice on how to enjoy life before having kids. Not that they don’t love being parents, they just urge you to enjoy the time in a marriage when you are alone and are free to travel, relax, go out to dinner, see movies etc. I will be married 5 years this July and will be turning 30 in one short month,  the time for babies is getting closer and closer. I figured it was time to make up some “do this before we have kids” lists. My husband has wanted a vintage mustang his whole life and because we knew we could never justify buying one once we have children, it went on his list and we got one. Then there is my less glamorous list.  I can’t think of what to put on my list other than food. My first question to my doctor was “when I am pregnant, can I still have goat cheese?”.  I have come to terms with the fact that I will  have to order California rolls when we eat sushi. I will find pasteurized goat cheese and I will panini press all my deli meats. But what about everything else? At least once a week I bring a head of cauliflower to work, roast it and eat the whole thing unabashedly at my desk like it’s a bowl of popcorn.  Will a slow, pregnant metabolism handle that kind of cruciferous onslaught? My pre-pregnancy to-do list has cauliflower all over it. As much as I can eat. In all my favorite forms. This recipe being one of my all time favorites.

  • 2 tablespoons  butter
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large  onion,diced
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 3 cups  chicken broth
  • 1 large head cauliflower – golden color cauliflower if possible, cut into small florets
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 3 teaspoons dry mustard
  • 1/2 cup  sherry
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • Croutons and minced parsley for garnish

In a heavy bottom put, cook the onion in the butter and olive oil until it’s softened. Stir in the flour and cook 1 minute. Add in the broth, about 3/4 of the cauliflower, salt, cayenne and mustard.

Let the soup simmer for 15 -20 minutes, until the cauliflower is very soft.

Puree the mixture using a hand immersion blender.

Add in remaining small florets and cook until tender.

Stir in the milk, cheese and sherry. Bring the soup to a simmer, do not boil.

Taste for seasoning and readjust with cayenne and salt. Serve with croutons and minced parsley.

4 Responses to “Creamy Cauliflower Soup with Cheddar”

  1. Dennis January 13, 2013 at 1:00 am #

    I just made this soup and it brought back memories of FNES 101. It’s sooooo good. Thanks for sharing. Although I will admit I did add extra cheese.

    • lemreg January 13, 2013 at 5:02 am #

      Miss you guys! What a great class, this is where we discovered this remember? I’ve been making it ever since, I tweaked it a bit. With more cheese :c)

  2. Mary January 26, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    Tried the cauliflower soup and loved it! Didn’t change anything in the recipe. I will be trying your chocolate cookies over the weekend too.

    • lemreg January 27, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

      Isnt it the best? Make that a few times a month and it always goes – glad you liked it Mary!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

