Ina Garten’s Panko Crusted Salmon

17 May

Confession/Realization:

I have trouble making decisions.

The evidence: 

1.  I have been blacklisted from Express and their affiliate stores due to “excessive returning”. I am not joking, they took my driver’s license information in front of a long line of people, I felt like a criminal.

2. I can’t handle diners. The lengthy menus with too many options have been known to make me break a sweat.

3. When I find a favorite song on the radio I instantly have to check every other pre-set station to make sure there isn’t a BETTER favorite song on. If there is a tie, I have to switch back and forth to catch the best parts of each song.

As a culinary teacher, it is my job to stay aware of new trends and recipe ideas. My bedroom floor is covered in recipe clippings patiently awaiting their protective sheet covers, my biggest line of credit is to e-cookbooks.com and if the world was coming to an end and they didn’t announce it on Food Network, I wouldn’t know. So you would think I would know what to make for dinner without a problem. But, as noted above, my indecisiveness makes it quite the opposite. Maybe for other people they have their staple, go to recipes they make on certain days of the week. I on the other hand, can spend so much time in front of the meat case pondering endless possibilities, that I give up and take the walk of shame to the pizza place  to get take-out instead.  Sometimes dinner doesn’t need to be a masterpiece or a culinary revelation, sometimes it just needs to be simple, easy and delicious. Ina Garten’s new book, How easy is that? , is just that. I didn’t get paid to say this but it’s really a great cookbook full of simple, beautiful food at it’s best.

This simple recipe for salmon comes together quick , for nights when your brain cannot handle much more. 

  For the salmon: Adapted from:  How Easy Is That? by Ina Garten

Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees. In a bowl combine 1 cup panko breadcrumbs, 2 TBL  minced fresh parsley, 1 tsp. lemon zest, 2 Tbl olive oil , ½ tsp. kosher salt and ½ tsp. ground black pepper.

Spread 2 tbsp. Dijon mustard over the top of  4 (6-8 oz.) salmon fillets.  Press the panko mix on top of the mustard on each fillet .

Heat 2 TBSP of olive oil over medium-high heat in a 12-inch oven-safe saute pan for 2 minutes.  Add the salmon fillets, skin side down, and sear for 3-4 minutes.

Transfer the pan to the preheated oven  and bake for  5-7 minutes until the crumbs have browned.   Remove from the oven, cover with foil and let rest 5-10 minutes.  Serve with fresh lemon wedges.

For the vegetables: From www.Lessonsinfood.wordpress.com

Wash and trim 1 bunch of asparagus and slice into bite size pieces, quarter 5 medium red potatoes and peel and slice diagonally 2 large carrots.

Add 2 tablespoons of olive to a large non-stick saute pan and saute the carrots and potato over medium heat until tender when pierced with a fork.  Season with freshly ground salt and pepper. Add asparagus and saute until tender but still crisp. Add the juice and zest of 1 lemon. Re-season with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Remove from heat and toss with 2 tablespoons of butter.

2 Responses to “Ina Garten’s Panko Crusted Salmon”

  1. Karen Goulet May 17, 2011 at 1:42 am #

    I like it! Gonna try it this week. Thanks. : )

  2. Loretta May 17, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Simple is Good! Then we have all that extra time for obsessing over other such important decisions.

Leave a Reply

