Shrimp and Corn Chowder

11 Jun

I use my blinker to pull into my driveway even if its 2 am and no one else is around. When the supermarket asks you to bring the cart back, I do. If a tag says don’t remove ,I leave it. I usually play by ALL the rules. But then there are some rules that just annoy me, usually ones that start with the anonymous “they”. “They” say you can’t wear white after labor day. Isn’t everyday technically after labor day? And what about winter white? “They” say you can’t serve hot soup in the summer? We eat other things hot don’t we? I just don’t like cold soups, I can’t wrap my head around it. Don’t get me wrong, gazpacho is delicious but I want a chip to eat it like salsa. And then there are some soups are kinda of rule breakers. This soup, maybe because of the whole summer, clambake, beachy, seafoody thing, is acceptable in summertime. I don’t care what the rules are, this is delicious anytime of year. Be a rebel, eat it hot.

Corn and Shrimp Chowder – lessonsinfood.wordpress.com original recipe

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 medium onion, diced
1 tablespoon tomato paste
2 tablespoons flour
2 cups seafood or chicken stock
1 large Yukon Gold potato or Red New potato, peeled and diced
1/2 pound shrimp, peeled, deveined and chopped
3/4 cup frozen corn, defrosted
1 cup milk or cream
2 teaspoons Old Bay Seafood seasoning
2 teaspoons sherry
salt and pepper
parsley, minced

In a large saucepan, sweat onion and garlic in olive oil until translucent.
Add in tomato paste and cook 2 minutes.
Stir in flour to make a roux which will thicken the soup.  Cook while stirring 1 minute.
Whisk stock into the roux slowly and bring to a boil.
Add diced potatoes and cook until tender when pierced with a knife.
Season with salt and pepper, taste and re-season.
Add in chopped shrimp, corn, Old Bay, milk and sherry.
Simmer 5 minutes and taste for seasoning.
Adjust with salt and pepper.
Garnish with minced parsley.

2 Responses to “Shrimp and Corn Chowder”

  1. karen June 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    I’m going to try this! Sounds delish and simple enough. Thanks!

  2. Loretta June 11, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Let’s brake the rules a little more…bring me some for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

