Martha Stewart’s Langues-de-Chat ( Cat Tongues ) a.k.a Milano Cookies

28 Jun

Do you know what a cave cricket is? It’s a giant, mutant, blind, spider looking cricket that jumps at you because it can’t see. Basically it’s one of the scariest things ever and they are living in my basement. Last night I sat on my basement stairs in my rainboots ( for protection from jumping ) while I watched my husband bravely stick his head in a dirt hole in a closet where hundreds of them are living. Did I tell you that they jump at you? His body was half in the hole, like feet in the air, shoulders deep in spidery crickety hell. He wins husband of the year award for being the most awesomest guy on the planet. Sometimes I think there is nothing he can’t do.

( that’s the scary hole in the closet)

(that’s his head in scary hole with the crickets sucking them up with a shop vac)

In addition to being my super bug killing hero, my husband, who claims he doesn’t know how to cook, made these cookies. Without my help OR supervision.

A month ago I made a batch of these delicious cookies called cat tongues, which are exact replicas of Pepperidge Farm Milano Cookies.  It was late at night and I couldn’t take pictures, so I hid a few in a Tupperware at the bottom of the onion drawer to photograph another time.  It was a busy month and after not providing dinner one night while I was out, I guess somebody got desperate and searched parts of the fridge he has never seen before and found the hidden stash. After I called him up and told him he ruined my potential photo shoot, I came home the next night and discovered a dish rack of clean Kitchen Aid equipment and these cookies in the cookie jar.

Anyway, this should tell you a few things about these cookies that should convince you to make them TODAY.

1: They are good enough to eat a month later, even if they slightly taste like onions.

2: They are easy enough that a man who never cooks and doesn’t know where anything in the kitchen is, can make this unsupervised and they still come out perfectly amazing.

Martha Stewart’s Langues-de-Chat- slightly adapted from

 http://www.marthastewart.com/255994/langues-de-chat

  • 1/4 pound unsalted butter, chopped into small chunks

  • 1/2 cup sugar

  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 3 large egg whites

  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees and grease a cookie sheet.  With an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat egg whites into the butter, one at a time. Add the vanilla. In another bowl combine flour and salt. Add flour mixture gradually and mix until combined, scraping down the sides. Transfer the batter to a large pastry bag or a Ziploc bag with the corner cut. Pipe out cookies into a thin oval, 3 inches long, about half the width you want them to be since they will double in width while baking.

Bake until the edges are lightly golden, about 12 to 15 minutes. Transfer to a cooling rack, cookies will get crispy as they cool.

Melt the chocolate in a double boiler over simmering water and stir until smooth.  Carefully spread 1 cooled cookie with chocolate, and top with another cookie to create a sandwich.

Dip in milk for best results.

9 Responses to “Martha Stewart’s Langues-de-Chat ( Cat Tongues ) a.k.a Milano Cookies”

  1. John June 28, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    Mikey….we need to talk…….your awesomeness is making the rest of mankind
    look bad. Loretta wants cricket control and cookies now.

  2. Casey June 28, 2011 at 2:15 am #

    Oh boy, these look amazing!!! I LOVE milanos! 😀 thanks for the recipe

  3. karen June 28, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    Wow–Who would’ve known that these are that uncomplicated! Will try. Thanks.

  4. Meryl Cittadino June 28, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    I love reading your funny stories and your lessons on food, even though I rarely cook

  5. Christina June 28, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    Woohoo Go Hubby!! – on all accounts!! and I will definitely be making these cookies – with my hubby now that you have said this. 🙂 Thanks for the post. these are my favorite and I am looking forward to making these very much!

  6. Thu July 17, 2011 at 5:07 am #

    greatt, i’m gonna try this recipe right away. I love Milano and I’ve been finding for the best recipe the whole morning. But wait, you didn’t add corn syrup and chopped pistachios, right? Is that ok?

  7. Thu July 17, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    ooooops so the corn syrup and pistachios are for the coating. sorry, my bad!!!

    • lemreg July 17, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      Yes I left those out but you could totally put them in Im sure they would look beautiful!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lemonade and a Kitchen-Aid Stand Mixer Review « Lessons in Food - June 25, 2012

    […] Once this kitchen must have item is in your possession you’ll find whipping up a batch of cookies on a Tuesday night is no big deal. Homemade fettuccine doesn’t need to be an all day Sunday […]

Leave a Reply

